PDA

View Full Version : Authors rating their own stories...

Sayokane
January 16th, 10, 03:20 AM
I'm kind of curious why the system doesn't detect that the author him/herself is commenting on their own fictional stories and lets them assign a rating.

Shouldn't this not be allowed? I've seen a few instances where an incredibly bad story was given five stars by it's own author in order to draw people to it, or in order to keep their own ratings up.

I just think that this shouldn't be allowed...

Saturn_Ringer
January 16th, 10, 03:24 AM
Really? You can do that? O_O

That does seem like a very dishonest thing to do...have you talked to a mod about it?

Samiel
January 16th, 10, 03:52 AM
I'm rather glad this was posted, could I receive links as to where it occurred?

Mistress
January 16th, 10, 04:22 AM
I agree with Sayokane. As a writer myself, I have been tempted to give my stories five stars just to get my ratings up and my stories more attention.

I'd like to know what determines what stories get in the top 10 stories section, as I've got a several stories with around 10 five star votes. And yet Arukan has six stories the top 10, and five of them only have 1 five star votes under it...nothing against Arukan, I've read each story and they each deserve 5 stars in my opinion...

rant over.

Sayokane
January 16th, 10, 04:43 AM
So far I've found the following, some are buried in the reviews though so you need to look at the comments:

http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=796&title=

http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=772&title= (http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=772&title)

http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=762&title= (http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=762&title)

http://diaperedanime.com/forum/vbarticles.php?do=article&articleid=715&title=