PDA

View Full Version : Poor Spelling/Story Development in RPs: What Are Your Thoughts?

Dr_J
June 28th, 09, 05:10 PM
I've yet to actually get into the RP thing, although it has caught my attention. I'd like to try it sometime (with exceptions, of course).

For the past few weeks, I've been studying the RP threads so I can get a better idea of what people are typing and how the RPs are developed. However, one major thing I noticed was the lack of spelling/grammar skills in the posts. This is something that I cannot overlook so easily, especially because I'm a writer. I aim for perfection in my writing, even if I'm talking to somebody in a chat room or posting on a forum.

The other thing I've noticed is the lack of story development. I can see the popularity in some RPs over the others, but it seems hard to develop a solid story to move the thread along when most posts are mere one-liners.

I'm not saying any of this to be rude, I just want to know what your thoughts are on this? These things are what make me hesitant to start. Any thoughts? :)

Mistress
June 28th, 09, 05:29 PM
Rping is sorta a make-it-up-as-you-go-along sort of thing. It's also about having fun between the rpers, they get so into it that their grammer can sometimes suffer, but so long as it's understandable it's not that much of a problem.

As a writer myself, I can understand what you're saying, I usually need a basic plot idea to start rping, and pick up things as the rp progresses. And too much grammer errors tend to make me want to pull my hair out, i.e. actually typing like a toddler would.

Anyways, those are my thoughts on the subject.

TickTock
June 28th, 09, 06:17 PM
Hmm i agree, there's one rp i'm in with my friend, diaperanmie, that has a rule, she made, you have to have, at least two sentances or if you can't do two sentances. One very good sentance or a sentance that moves it along.

Well I can't remeber, excatly what it said.